The heavy rain in northeastern states has worsened the flood situation in Assam where more than 161,000 people have been affected in 15 districts. The heavy rain also caused a landslide in the Badarpur area of Karimganj district in which five people including a woman and her three daughters as well as a three-year-old boy were killed.

The landslide took place in Gainachora village on Tuesday night. The landslide deaths bring the total number of deaths in Assam to over 30 since Cyclone Remal made landfall in the state in May.

"Last night at about 12.45 am, information was received about a landslide in the Gainachora (Bendargool) village area under the Badarpur police station. Upon receiving the information, the officer-in-charge of Badarpur police station, along with his staff and SDRF personnel, rushed to the spot and carried out a rescue operation. After three hours, the rescue team recovered five bodies from the debris," said Mr Partha Protim Das, Superintendent of Police for Karimganj district.

The victims were identified as Roymun Nessa (55) and her daughters Sahida Khanam (18), Jahida Khanam (16), and Hamida Khanam (11). The three-year-old boy was identified as Mehdi Hassan, son of Mahimuddin.

According to the Assam State Disaster Management Authority (ASDMA), Karimganj is the worst affected district, with 1,52,133 people reeling under floodwaters. The calamity has affected a total crop area of 1,378.64 hectares and 54,877 animals. Currently, 470 villages across 24 revenue circles are submerged.

Relief efforts are underway, with 5,114 people taking shelter in 43 relief camps. However, the extent of damage to infrastructure, including embankments, roads, and bridges, has compounded the difficulties in providing aid and assistance. The Kopili river at Kampur is reported to be flowing above danger levels, raising concerns of further inundation.

Meanwhile, heavy rain has inundated Dhubri district jail in which more than 450 inmates are lodged.

The flood-affected districts include Biswanath, Lakhimpur, Hojai, Bongaigaon, Nalbari, Tamulpur, Udalguri, Darrang, Dhemaji, Hailakandi, Karimganj, Goalpara, Nagaon, Chirang, and Kokrajhar.