A tectonic earthquake measuring 6.0 on the Richter scale jolted East Nusa Tenggara (NTT) provincial city of Kupang at 2:53 local time on Wednesday afternoon, the national meteorology and geophysics agency (BMG) has said.

BMG said the epicenter of the earthquake was located between 9.49 degrees southern latitude and 124.19 degress eastern longitude at a depth of 10 kilometers under the seabed, or 101 kilometers north east of Kupang.

There was no immediate report so far about fatality or material damages in the earthquake.

Earlier at 8:34 a.m. the Eastern Indonesia Time, a 5.3 magnitude earthquake jolted Nabire province in Papua with its epicenter located at 2.63 degrees southern latitude and 136.49 degrees eastern longitude at a depth of 76 kilometers below sea level, or 137 kilometers northeast of Nabire.

On Tuesday, January 27, Taliwang area at West Sumbawa district in West Nusa Tenggara (NTB) was also rocked by a 5.9 magnitude earthquake
at 8:58 a.m. local time.

An officer at the meteorology and geophysics station at Selaparang Airport, Dewa Gde Agung Mahendra, said the epicenter of earthquake was located at 11.71 degrees southern latitude and 117.47 degrees eastern longitude at a depth of 10 kilometers below sea level or about 336 kilometers southeast of Taliwang.

Earlier, at 2:33 on Tuesday morning. a 5.7 magnitude earthquake occurred in Tanahbala, North Sumatra, at a depth of 25 kilometer below sea level, or 39 kilometers northwest of Tanahbala.

Later, at 5:20 a.m. local time, another earthquake measuring 5.2 on the Richter scale was also reported to have rocked Gorontalo and Manado in North Sulawesi.

Its epicenter was located at 0.16 degrees southern latitude and 123.99 degrees eastern longitude at a depth of 56 kilometers below sea level.

It was located 128 kilometers southeast of Gorontalo and 205 kilometers northwest of Manado.